answers.

I have come to find myself wanting answers lately; a lot of different answers.  What am I supposed to be? Was Jesus ever afraid? Is this the way life is going to be forever? Why is there so much death and suffering and why does it continue? What does walking in obedience look like? Do I go left? Or right? Why can’t I seem to “hear” or “feel” You? What do I need to do to honor You and walk in obedience? But, just because these questions and even their answers aren’t in and of themselves wrong or bad- it is wrong if I start to make them ultimate. I find myself beginning to think that if I find the answers I will find life, I will find freedom. If the answers show up I will have found all I am looking for and everything I need. – WRONG! LIE!

“you search the scriptures because you think that in them you have eternal life; and it is they that bear witness about me, yet you refuse to come to me that you may have life.” John 5:39-40

Jesus was speaking to those who were searching for answers and life in the scriptures, in the answers, instead of seeking all of those things in Jesus Christ Himself. They wanted to know what to do and what not to do in order to get salvation, in order to get to eternal life. They desired obedience, which is a good thing, but they only desired it for only the sake of obedience. They were seeking life in the answers, in the obedience, in the knowledge of the scriptures- and they missed the point!

Oh how often I miss the point!! How often my goal is obedience and scripture and wisdom and knowledge! True life, eternal life, is not found in answers or even in our feeble attempts at obedience. Life is found only in the life, death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus Christ!! When we see that and come to truly understand and believe it, when we begin seeing Jesus as the goal, as ultimate-all of everything else will fall into place! Obedience will follow, answers may come, but it’s not in those things where life is found. And even if our questions remain unanswered and the obedience can’t be mustered – Christ is enough!! He will bridge the gap. He is sufficient. He is enough. Always. Even if all things are taken away…even if our identity is seemingly stripped from us, He is still enough! Always enough!

Leave a Reply

